Fish Skirts > Fish Sticks

Standard

Something has gotten into me the past couple of days. I’m not sure if it’s because I’ve been a slacker at sewing and miss it, or if I’m tired of seeing piles of unfinished projects laying around, or if I’m ready for summer and summer clothes, but I have been a sewing machine (haha) for the last 2 days.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I don’t even like fish. I think the smell bad and taste bad, but this shirt was too cute to pass up. It’s a men’s XXL and covered with a very cute fish pattern. Nautical is always a good route to go for summer and I was thinking this future fishy skirt would fit right in.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here are the fish. I think they are too cute and perfect for summer!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I removed the pocket with a seam ripper and cut the top of the shirt off right under the arms. I then took in the sides of the skirt. I went straight down and made sure I had plenty booty room.

I made a waist band next. I pieces together leftover fabric from the top to made a casing for elastic and sewed it to the top of the skirt. I then fed the elastic through and sewed the opening shut.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is the finished skirt. It just slides right on. This was a super easy project. I might have to make more than one. I think it would maybe be cute with a contrasting waist band or with pockets. I might have to play around some more with other shirts to see what I can come up with. I think it will be lightweight and breezy for a hot summer. Now I just need to find a lake/beach to hang out at.

If you decide to do something like this make sure you look at the bottom of the shirt. Most men’s shirts are not straight across at the bottom. You need to make sure you have enough room to hem it or let it have a curved bottom.

fish skirt

It’s only April and I’m totally ready for July 4th!

Leave a comment