Rock the Boat

Standard

It’s that time of year again…Dance competition season!!!! It’s so close I can taste it. Well, maybe that is just a side effect of smelling too much E600 glue this time of year. The studio I work for is heading out to the first competition this weekend, and finishing touches are being placed on dances and on costumes. I think all dances need a headpiece of some sort. The costume never seems totally complete without a little extra something for the hair. Lucky for me, my boss agrees and all dances have them. I have been making a bunch of headpieces in the past weeks, but I was working on some really cute ones today. The dance is called “Rock the Boat” and has a nautical/boat/cruise theme.

IMG_2791

Lycra (that matches the costume) and felt all cut out and ready to glue.

IMG_2785

These gold anchor buttons are like buried treasure on my kitchen floor.

IMG_2792

The finished product! I think they are super cute.

I cut out a rectangle from felt and then wrapped the lycra around the felt and attached it with a hot glue. I then made a ruffle and hot glued in to the side. Lastly I glued the 3 buttons down the front. Now I just have 21 more to finish.

Wish us luck this weekend! I’m already proud of all the dancers.

One thought on “Rock the Boat

Leave a Reply

