How 2 shirts became 1

Standard

I love to thrift. I think it’s crazy that everyone doesn’t do it. Finding a good deal is so ridiculously exciting I could almost pee my pants. I also like hunting for things that can be made into other things. That means I get to have a 1 of a kind thing that no one else has. That is what this story is about. I was shopping at one of my favorite thrift stores on half price day, which by the way is fabulous and chaotic all at the same time. I found 2 shirts that I really loved. Not because they were cute, that is for sure, but because they were such pretty colors. I didn’t know what I would do at first, but I knew I would come up with a plan.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This green shirt is obviously too small.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This blue grandma shirt has shoulder pads. Yuck!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ta-da! Here is the finished product! I added a panel to the front and back and then add strips of green to create a ladder. I shortened the sleeves, and then had to take in the sides a little bit since the shirt got wider when I added the panels.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m watching you!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is an up close picture of some of the details.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This picture is just for fun. I’m not even really sure how it happened.

This weekend just so happens to start competition season for the studio where I teach dance. And this shirt just so happens to be the same colors as productions costumes. Happy accident? I think so. It must be a divine sign that I need to wear it to competition this weekend. I think so!

Leave a Reply

