Bubble Romper

Standard

We all know that I like a good up-cycle project, but this one was a little more difficult than I had anticipated. It wasn’t anything that I couldn’t handle. I think what really happened, which is pretty common for me, is that I didn’t actually have a plan totally formulated before I began. No problem. I loved the end result.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This cute dress is what I started with. I got it super on sale from the consignment store where I work. It was a size 7 in girls. I mainly chose this piece because of the ruffles. They are a little time consuming to make, plus these were super cute trimmed in pink. The plan was to make a bubble for Tater Tot, the best niece ever.

 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After much re-working, piecing pieces together, and sewing stuff this is what I ended up with. A lovely little bubble romper with a skirt thingy in the back in about a size 6 months.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is a close up of some of the details. Of course there had to be a ruffle around the legs too.

charley bug

Here is the princess. Princess Tater Tot in all of her loveliness. She is 7 months old, but no worries I had her nice and balanced and super close by to catch her when she toppled over. I think she looks ready for the beach and warm weather that Mother Nature has been teasing us with lately.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is a view from the back. I love the bow. I didn’t want it to be a halter top at first, but I love it. I think I would pretty much love anything Tater Tot was in. I love this little girl to pieces!!!!

For now, I don’t think I will be making tons of bubble rompers. It was cute and fun, but baby clothes are slightly more difficult than you would think. The elastic in the legs was pretty tricky and I’m just not ready for that challenge again quite yet. Don’t worry. I already have another project started. It involves doily like Christmas decorations. I think you will be surprised. Give me a few days (or weeks) to get it together.

One thought on “Bubble Romper

Leave a Reply

