Scalloped Potato Shirt

Standard

I have a confession. There is actually no potatoes involved in this post, but the shirt does have a scalloped design and it makes me think of potatoes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is one of the few times I had a plan when I purchased an item. I thought this would make a cute tank, but once I started working it took a little more time than anticipated. I’m not sure why this before picture is so blurry and crazy looking, so sorry for that, but the shirt really isn’t all that horrible. It has some great elements.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I started the same way I often do. I removed the shoulder pads and the sleeves with a seam ripper.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I then took a little more fabric out of the shoulders so it wouldn’t be such a boxy tank top. I then finished the arm holes. They were a little ruffle-y looking, so I ironed them down and it took care of most of the problem.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I used chalk to draw where I would cut out the back of the shirt. It was just a rough sketch at this point, but I made sure I cut in smooth lines. After I cut, I turned it under and sewed it down.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is where the problem always lies. I don’t know why I can’t get it though my thick skull that if I buy a big shirt to turn into a tank, the arm hole will be too big. Lucky for me this time, the shirt was large enough around that I could take it in under the arm pits. I tried to make a smooth transition with the already existing seam. It was getting better, but the arm holes were still a little ruffle-y looking.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

To get rid of the last bit of ruffle in the arm hole I put a dart on each side where I am pointing to. At this point I had to figure out what to do to the back. The front of the shirt was so much heavier than the back it was pulling it forward. I added a strip of fabric across the very top back of the shirt. It is attached with a hook and eye on one side you you can get in and out of it.

black shirt

Here is the final product. I’m not going to lie it wasn’t the easiest thing I’ve ever made. This material is slippery and it likes to move when you try to sew. Some of my seams look more like snakes than lines, so you aren’t allowed to inspect this shirt when I wear it.

black shirt with jacket

I think it also looks pretty good with my pink faux leather jacket that I got for super cheap because I purchased it in the middle of the summer. Can you tell I’m already ready for fall. I think it might be my favorite season, and I think that is because fall clothes are my favorite. I’m so ready to put all my layers back on and start wearing scarves again. Lucky for me I now have this cute tank to layer. I think it would also look great with leggings and a cardigan.

One thought on “Scalloped Potato Shirt

Leave a Reply

