Tater-Tot Tar Heel

Standard

Football season is upon us. Sometimes we learn to follow certain teams later in life, but sometimes we are born into a fandom. I was born a Carolina Tar Heel. No if ands or buts about it. It’s just how it was. (Quite frankly now that I’m older I could really care less about football, but if I do cheer for a college team it is Carolina.) Tater-tot, my niece, was born a Tar Heel also. She was at her first football game before she was even a month old. She toughed it out through the entire season of home games and even had a Carolina Blue fuzzy bear suit looking thing to keep her warm. She was definitely the cutest thing in Keenan Stadium last year.

I had her an amazing first Birthday present, but I also like to give a handmade gift too. It needed to be a good one. A really cute light pink Carolina t-shirt came into my store, but it was a junior’s large. No problem for me. I enjoy a challenge.

 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s cute, but it definitely needs some bling, so I took care of that problem.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I used E600 glue and size 20 aquamarine ab stones. I got them at Hobby Lobby, but other fabric stores might carry these stones or anywhere that has dance costume supplies.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I filled in all the letters with these pretty stones.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I used a shirt she already had to cut this one down to size and then I sewed the sides and shoulders together with a slight zig-zag stitch.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I just rolled the fabric in the arms under once and sewed it with a slight zig-zag stitch. Then I reattached the neck of the t-shirt to the new neck of the dress.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I used what was left of the bottom of the shirt to make the bottom of the dress. I set my sewing machine on a zig-zag setting and lined up the bottom of the hem with the needle. I then stretched the fabric as I was sewing right over the edge. The stretching creates the ruffle. I stitched around twice to have a good amount of blue on the edge. (Confession: this ruffle technique isn’t my idea. I saw it on a tutorial once. I would really love to give the other person credit, but I can’t figure out where the tutorial is. I swear I pinned it on Pinterest, but it’s not on any of my boards. If I find it again another day, I will share.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I then sewed with a wide straight stitch on the other side of the ruffle boarder and pulled a thread to make the other side have a bit of ruffle too. I sewed this ruffle piece onto the bottom of the dress.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I then used excess sleeve material to make little ruffle sleeves/wings.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I used the same technique on these as I used on the bottom of the dress. I then sewed these over the shoulders of the dress.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here it the front.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is the back.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is a silly little girl modeling. It’s kind of long because I didn’t want to cut off any of the design on the front of the shirt. The length makes it look a little bit like a gown, but she is still precious in my opinion.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Crazy girl.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hello kitty cat. So nice to see you here.

I did make her try this on after her birthday party. I’m sure she was exhausted, but I still think she is the cutest little tater-tot in the whole world!

2 thoughts on “Tater-Tot Tar Heel

Leave a Reply

