License Plates For Lovers

Standard

Using license plates to make signs is pretty neat. I know it’s not an original idea, but this project definitely has my spin on it. I’ve made a few in the past, but someone requested one for a wedding gift so I pulled out all of my rusted up/cut up license plates and got to work. I figured you might like to see the process too. The hardest part is finding plates that are unique and not too expensive. You really have to search.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I began by laying out all of the letters I had previously cut to see what I was missing. I was missing a few letters, but not too bad. I searched junk shops and antique malls to find license plates with the missing letters. I try to find all different types of tags with different colors and fonts.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAHere I am ready to cut some license tags. I use a little Dremel Saw Max that my step dad got for me about 2 years ago. My first power tool (and only one to be exact). I am also wearing goggles because my step dad said he didn’t want to drive me to the hospital when I got scrap metal in my eye.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI use clamps to hold a board down. I use this as a guide to make sure I’m cutting in a straight line. I then use another clamp to hold down the license tag so it doesn’t move while I cut. I use gloves because the metal gets pretty hot while cutting, and there are sharp edges. Some tags throw off a lot of sparks so I try to work quickly and accurately to make a smooth straight line.

After all of the letters were cut, I found a big frame. I painted the frame black. Then I cut a piece of cardboard to fit into the frame.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I covered the card board with fabric and then used hot glue to glue the letters to the board.This is what the sign looks like before it is put into the frame. It could say anything you wanted it to say, but this is what was requested this time.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is the final project from the front. I put the cardboard piece into place and then use a little bit of hot glue to hold it in the frame. It will be a great present for an eclectic couple.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I then used brown paper to cover the back so it has a nice smooth surface and you can’t see the covered card board. I also added a little hangy thing to the top so the picture can be hung on the wall. I might be most proud of being able to put that little thing into place. Holding a nail that tiny is very tough.

Word got back to me that the couple loved their frame. I get so excited when people enjoy my work! I also recently made one for my best friend’s birthday, and he liked his too. I think this ends up being a pretty cool project that both males and females appreciate.

Leave a Reply

