Berserk

Standard

My most recent fortune cookie said, “If you want to win anything – a race, your self, your life – you have to go a little berserk.” I’ve felt pretty crazy the past few weeks, so perhaps that means I will be winning at something soon. I’m not saying that I think horrible things are happening and I’m waiting on the good stuff. Actually a lot of good stuff has been happening, but for a pretty un-organized person it can make you feel quite berserk!

I’ve been horrible at blog posts lately. I have 2 “real” jobs and kind of a side business with my sister. I work 7 days a week every week with my “real” jobs and in my free time craft. Many people might not categorize teaching dance as a “real” job, but I have set hours, I take time to plan every week, and I get paid….so it’s a real job, just not a 9-5 one. So basically, I’m busy. Lately I’ve been doing plenty of projects, but not ones that I’ve really wanted to blog about. And I haven’t wanted to stop working on stuff long enough to type. I typically blog about personal projects that I do for myself on the side, but I haven’t done any projects for myself lately. (sad day, right?)

My sister and I rent space at an antique mall and we sell some things that we make. Every since Tater-Tot was born, we have been slacking off. How can you possibly want to spend your free time crafting, when the cutest, sweetest baby ever is tugging on your heart strings. Now that she is a little bit older, it’s been a little bit easier to get projects completed. We decided to totally revamp everything we’ve done. We wiped out everything in our booth. All the old stuff gone, and totally turned it into a Christmas booth. Our thoughts were that it would be like a little Christmas store, and almost everything in it is wood. Here are a few pictures. This includes stuff made by me, my sister, and a few things made by our mom.

xmas5

xmas17

xmas3

xmas4

xmas11

xmas10

xmas8

I’ve also started making hair bows. I think I kind of got suckered into this one with out even realizing that I was being suckered. I think this was a sneaky move by my sister so she could have bows to match all of Tater-Tot’s clothes, even though she is refusing to wear bows at the moment. It’s actually been kind of fun, but I never really thought I would stay up late at night wrapping ribbon into bows. Here is a picture so show some of the most recent Christmas bows I’ve been working on. The sewing machine makes for a great bow shelf.

bows

I also let Tater help me sew some lace ruffles on gloves. It takes so much longer with an almost 15 month old, but I think it will totally be worth it if she loves crafting as much as the rest of the girls in the family. Plus now she has learned how to say “please.” It sounds more like “peas,” and if she says “peas” I can’t not pick her up and put her in my lap. Here we are sewing, and a picture of the girly gloves.

Charley Sews

gloves

So you see, I have actually been working and creating. I’m sorry I’ve spent so much time away from my blog. I promise to try to be more timely with my next post. Notice…I said I would try. Not making any guarantees here. I also have a few big projects that are in the works, but I can’t spill the beans for some of them until after Christmas, and one even has to wait untill May. There is also a Halloween blog just waiting to be written, but we can all see how that is going.

Until next time…I hope your life is filled with lovely berserk days!

Leave a Reply

